

Crop Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Agenda Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2024 2:00-3:15pm (Central)

President Kim Garland-Campbell called the meeting to order. Board members present:

President: Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS (2024)

Past President: Seth Murray, Texas A&M (2024)

C-1: Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State Univ. (2025)

C-2: John Snider, University of Georgia-Tifton (2026)

C-3: Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ. (2024)

C-4: Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ. (2025)

C-5: Cale Bigelow, Purdue (2026)

C-6: John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska (2024)

C-8: Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska (2025)

C-9: Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS (2025)

DEI-At-Large: Geoffrey Koch, UC-Davis (2023)

Industry: Leah Brilman, DLF (2025)

Grad Student: Tina Sullivan, Utah State Univ (2025)

Ex-Officio Board Members without Vote:

CEO: Jim Cudahy; B&F Chair Stephen Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD (2025); Program Planning Officer

Nithya Rajan, Texas A&M (2026); ASF Chair: Stella

Salvo, Bayer CropScience (2024)

Unable to attend:

President-Elect: Mark Sorrells, Cornell (2024)

C-7: Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ. (2024)

Editor-in-Chief Bingru Huang, Rutgers (2024)

Also attending:

Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director

Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Sara Uttech, Governance Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

C1003 CSSA Board of Directors

- 1. The meeting opened with 15 minutes of networking and explanation of future topical discussions at the start of each board meeting. Board members are invited to volunteer to select an article or topic, contact Kim, kim.garland-campbell@usda.gov
- 2. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - Jan. 16, 2024 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - Dec. 18, 2023 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy update:
 - New Director of Finance & Accounting Sheri Springer beginning Feb. 12
 - Progress on Operationalizing the Strategic Plan following Department Directors Retreat
 - Internal IT Assessment
 - Websites Redesign Project
 - New logos and branding
- 4. ASA, CSSA, SSSA Awards & Scholarships Open: www.crops.org/awards using the *Discussion Board and other methods, board members to encourage colleagues and students*
 - Award Nominations close 3/12/2024 | Submissions due 3/19/2024
 - Scholarship Nominations close 3/19/2024 | Submissions due 3/27/2024
 - Reminder of CSSA Awards Policy that board members can't participate in CSSA Awards
- 5. President Kim Garland-Campbell requested input for her *CSA News* Presidents' Column on raising the visibility of our disciplines and members, and innovating stakeholder experiences, two objectives from the CSSA Strategic Plan.
- 6. Next CSSA Board Meeting Date: Tuesday Feb. 20, 2:00-3:15pm (Central) & Agenda Preview
 - Results of Vote: ACSESS Publishing Partner Vote
 - Report from Meeting: AAAS Meeting President Kim Garland-Campbell
 - Introduce: New Director of Finance & Accounting Sheri Springer

ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Vote by Jan. 19 for the ACSESS Publishing Partner on the SurveyMonkey link distributed.

ACS732 Program Planning Committee

The revised Invited Speaker Complimentary Registration Policy was returned to the ACS732 Committee for further consideration.

C201 CSSA Organization, Policy, & Bylaws Committee

- 1. Board members to sign updated Conflict of Interest Policy and send to Governance Director Sara Uttech, suttech@sciencesocieties.org
- 2. Board Members appointed to Board-Level Committees:
 - C211 CSSA Budget & Finance Committee:
 - John Snider, C-2
 - C592 CSSA Science Policy Committee:
 - o Mary Guttieri, C-9
 - Tina Sullivan, Grad Student Rep.
 - Any other board members encouraged to volunteer as policy experts, contact CAO Luther Smith, <u>lsmith@sciencesocieties.org</u>

C011.06 CSSA Division C-6, Forage and Grazinglands Officers

ACTION: Motion by Melanie Bayles, seconded by Mary Guttieri, that we join with the other Societies to submit a letter to the National Alfalfa and Forage Alliance in support of the Alfalfa Checkoff Program as dollars directly fund research and educational programs. CAO Luther Smith agreed to work on drafting the letter with ASA. Motion carries with one abstention.

Consensus to Adjourn.