

# Crop Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Thursday, Nov. 2, 2023, 9:30-11:30am (Central), St. Louis, MO

President Seth Murray called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Seth Murray, Texas A&M (2023)

Past President: Marilyn Warburton, USDA-ARS (2023) President-Elect: Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS (2023)

C-1: Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State Univ. (2025)

C-2: Felix Fritschi, Univ. of Missouri (2023)

C-4: Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ. (2025)

C-3: Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ. (2024)

C-5: Cale Bigelow, Purdue (2023)

DEI Member-at-Large: Geoffrey Koch, UC-Davis (2023)

Grad Student Rep.: Karl Kunze, Cornell (2023) Editor-in-Chief: Bingru Huang, Rutgers (2024)

ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023)

C-6: John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska (2024) C-7: Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ. (2024)

C-9: Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS (2025)

Industry Rep.: Leah Brilman, DLF Pickseed (2025)

<u>Ex-officio</u>: CEO Jim Cudahy; Incoming President-Elect Mark Sorrells, Cornell (2023); B&F Chair: Steve Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD (2025); Program Planning Officer Nithya Rajan, Texas A&M (2023); Incoming C-2 John Snider, University of Georgia-Tifton; Incoming Grad Student Tina

Sullivan, Utah State University

Unable to attend:

C-8: Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska (2025)

Also participating:

Susan Chapman, Member Services Director

Dawn Gibas, Certification Director Ian Popkewitz, IT/Operations Director Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Sara Uttech, Governance Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

## C003 CSSA Board of Directors

- 1. Welcome New Board Members (terms begin 1/1/2024):
  - President-Elect Mark Sorrells, Cornell University
  - Division C-2 Crop Physiology & Metabolism Board Representative John Snider, University of Georgia-Tifton
  - Division C-5 Turfgrass Science Board Representative Cale Bigelow, Purdue (re-elected)
  - Graduate Student Board Representative: Tina Sullivan, Utah State University
- 2. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members (terms end 12/31/2023):
  - Past President Marilyn Warburton, USDA-ARS
  - Division C-2 Crop Physiology & Metabolism Board Rep. Felix Fritschi, University of Missouri
  - Graduate Student Board Representative Karl Kunze, Cornell University
- 3. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
  - Nov. 2, 2023 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
  - Sept. 28, 2023 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
  - Updated CSSA Awards Policy as recommended by the CSSA Organization, Policy & Bylaws Committee
- 4. ACTION: Motion by Melanie Bayles, seconded by Nicole Anderson, to approve the 2024-2028 CSSA Strategic Plan CEO Jim Cudahy & President Seth Murray. Unanimous approval. Next Steps:
  - October/November: Annual Meeting Board Meeting to approve Strategic Plan
  - December: Department Directors to operationalize the Strategic Plan
  - January (with sneak peek in St. Louis): Strategic Plan presented to members
  - There was discussion of involving Committees in the Strategic Plan
- 5. President-Elect Kim Garland-Campbell and CEO Jim Cudahy led a discussion on the role of the CSSA Board:
  - Integration of Committees & Divisions

- How to maximize Board discussion, contributions
- Frequency & Duration of Meetings in 2024 consensus to continue 1-hour monthly meetings.
  Suggestion to expand our communications using the CSSA Board Discussion Board, CSSA Board List-serv, etc.
- 6. ACTION: Motion by Melanie Bayles, seconded by Nicole Anderson, to approve CSSA to join with the other Societies in the Engineers without Borders program as presented by CAO Luther Smith. Unanimous approval.

## C211 CSSA Budget & Finance Committee

- 1. ACTION: Motion by Steve Malone, seconded by Felix Fritschi, to approve the 2024 CSSA Budget as presented by CEO Jim Cudahy and B&F Chair Steve Malone. Unanimous approval.
- 2. 2023 Budget & Finance Committee: Chair Steve Malone, Kim Garland-Campbell, Bingru Huang, Nicole Anderson, Felix Fritschi, John Guretzky, and Jim Cudahy

## ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

- 1. Publications Director Matt Wascavage & Editor-in-Chief Bingru Huang provided an overview on Publications and the timeline for the post-2024 Publishing Program Initiative.
- 2. New virtual issue: "Advancing Resilient Agricultural Systems: Adapting to and Mitigating Climate Change" with open-access articles in several journals: <a href="access-onlinelibrary.wiley.com">access-onlinelibrary.wiley.com</a>

## C101 Nominations Committee

Governance Director Sara Uttech reminded the board that the 2024 CSSA Election Candidates for President, Board Rep, Division Chair are due **Nov. 30** and to encourage women, minorities, others to run for office

## C537 Science Policy Committee

The Board is invited to participate in Congressional Visits Day March 4-6, 2024, especially those on the Science Policy Committee. Grad students are also invited to participate, encourage them to apply by **Nov. 30**: <a href="https://www.crops.org/awards/view/185">www.crops.org/awards/view/185</a>

## ACS732 Program Planning Committee

President Seth Murray led a discussion about Annual Meeting feedback that was received from members and at Division Meetings. The feedback was forwarded to the Meetings Department for follow-up.

Consensus to adjourn.