

Crop Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Agenda Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2024 2:00-3:15pm (Central)

Resources: Strategic Plan, Bylaws, Minutes | Membership Dashboard | Board Outreach

President Kim Garland-Campbell called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS Past President Seth Murray, Texas A&M

President-Elect Mark Sorrells, Cornell

C-1 Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State Univ.

C-3 Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ.

C-4 Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ.

C-5 Cale Bigelow, Purdue

C-6 John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska

C-7 Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ.

C-9 Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS

DEI-At-Large Geoffrey Koch, Petrichor Consulting

Grad Student Tina Sullivan, Kansas State Univ. B&F Chair Stephen Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD

Industry Leah Brilman, DLF

Program Planning Officer: Nithya Rajan, Texas A&M Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Ex-Officio without Vote: CEO Jim Cudahy; Incoming Sara Uttech, Governance Director

President-Elect Felix Fritschi, Univ. of Missouri

Unable to attend:

C-2 John Snider, University of Georgia-Tifton

C-8 Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska Editor-in-Chief Bingru Huang, Rutgers ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer CropScience

Also attending:

C-3-Elect Laura Lindsey, Ohio State University

C-7-Elect John Fellers, USDA-ARS

C-6-Elect Vanessa Corriher-Olson, Texas AgriLife

Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director

Dawn Gibas, Certifications Director Sanford Moore, Finance Director

Ian Popkewitz, IT & Operations Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

C003 CSSA Board of Directors

1. Mary Guttieri led a discussion on the 2024 CANVAS presentation: "Who Cares? Care Responsibilities of Faculty in Plant Breeding Related Fields in the US."

Facilitators to Lead Topic/Article Selection & Discussion	
February Early Career Members: Kim Garland-Campbell	July Soft Skills Training: Melanie Bayles
March Science Communications: Geoffrey Koch	August Regenerative Ag TEDTalk: Tina Sullivan
April Social Media Misinformation: Jim Cudahy	September Grass vs. Turf: Cale Bigelow
May Happiness/Gratitude/Mental Health: John Guretzky	October Photosynthesis TEDTalk: John Snider
June A.I.: Seth Murray	December Care Responsibilities: Mary Guttieri

- 2. ACTION: Consensus to approve the Consent Agenda:
 - Dec. 17, 2024 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - Nov. 14, 2024 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy presented a Headquarters update including:
 - Website Redesign: Dec. 19; CANVAS and CCA website redesigns are next. The Member Hub will launch on Jan. 20
 - Board outreach opportunities: PowerPoint & resources www.sciencesocieties.org/aboutsociety/outreach
 - ACSESS Board Meeting Task Force formed to review structure/cadence of board meetings with Kim Garland-Campbell as Chair; incoming presidents-elect Wade Thomason (ASA), Felix Fritschi (CSSA), and Aaron Daigh (SSSA).

C101 Nominations Committee

Governance Director Sara Uttech reported that all division candidates have been submitted by the Nominations Committees. The election will be held March 3-April 3, 2025. The President-Elect Nomination Committee, chaired by Kim Garland-Campbell, will meet in January 2025 to consider the five candidate names submitted - we will invite past candidates to submit

bios/vision. The committee uses a rubric to score the candidates. Any additional President-Elect candidates should be submitted to Sara Uttech.

ACS528 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in ASA, CSSA, and SSSA Committee

Chair Tiffany Carter provided an overview of the DEI Committee's activities across 7 working groups: professional conduct, ethics, education and training, policy review, measuring success, mentoring, and Annual Meeting planning. Accomplishments include: DEI/safe space advocate at the meeting, webinars on reducing bias and inclusive practices, statistics report for demographic information, and piloting a mentoring program. The committee is finalizing ethics statements and preparing for a DEI survey to inform future recommendations. Plans for 2025 include Code of Conduct review, Education & Training webinars, a new CSA News series, and a Communications Working Group. The CSSA DEI Board Member-at-Large is Geoffrey Koch.

C011.05 Division C-5, Turfgrass Science Officers

ACTION: Motion by Cale Bigelow, seconded by Mark Sorrells, to support the International Turfgrass Conference, July 12-16, 2025 in Japan https://itrc2025.turfsociety.com at the \$2,300 Bronze Level. Unanimous approval. The event brings in 500 attendees, many are CSSA members. ACSESS is publishing the International Turfgrass Society Research Journal for 2025. A number of related articles are also published in Agronomy Journal and Crop Science. ACSESS published the 2021 and 2017 editions, available on the Wiley Online Library at: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/25731513

President Kim Garland-Campbell issued a final thank you to outgoing board members with an informal feedback session:

- What is one thing you have appreciated about serving on the Board?
- What is one thing if on the Board another year, would you like to engage in?
- 1. Past President Seth Murray, Texas A&M University
- 2. C-3 Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ.
- 3. C-6 John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska
- 4. C-7: Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ.

Consensus to Adjourn.