Twards Fellows

2016 INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL MEETING



The Societies recognize the 2016 award recipients at Awards Ceremonies held during the Annual Meeting in Phoenix, AZ Nov. 6–9









Julia I. Bradley-Cook Congressional Science Fellow A-C-S Award



Julie A. Howe Mentoring Award A-C-S Award



Joel Ebert Cross-Cultural Experience Program Scholarship



Jake Patterson Cross-Cultural Experience Program Scholarship



Miranda Ruth Cross-Cultural Experience Program Scholarship



Jodi E. BoeJ. Fielding Reed
Scholarship



Ciera R. Houlton J. Fielding Reed Scholarship



Jerri Lynn Dodson Frank D. Keim Graduate Fellowship



Katharina Wigg Frank D. Keim Graduate Fellowship



Marian E. Lund United Soybean Board Fellowship



Ryan Merry United Soybean Board Fellowship



Dale Cowan International Certified Crop Adviser of the Year Award



Patricio Grassini ASA Early Career Professional Award



Baoshan Xing Environmental Quality Research Award



Newell R. Kitchen Carl Sprengel Agronomic Research Award



John F. Shanahan Werner L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors



Dan Undersander Agronomic Extension Education Award



Steve PhillipsAgronomic Industry
Award



Sam E. Feagley Agronomic Resident Education Award



Dan Undersander Agronomic Service Award



Yuncong Li Kingenta Agricultural Science Award



Jorge A. Delgado International Service in Agronomy Award



Ken Barbarick ASA Distinguished Service Award



Dean FairchildASA Presidential
Award



A program within the Golden Opportunity Scholars Institute, sponsored by ASA and ICCA, supporting outstanding undergraduates in a B.S. or A.S. program who plan to enter the workforce upon graduation.



Blaine E.H. Beissenherz Univ. of Missouri



Jessica Bramhall Kansas State Univ.



Aldo T. Garcia California State Univ.-Fresno



Sarah V. Striegel lowa State Univ.



Yue Wu California State Univ.-Fresno



May N. Yang California State Univ.-Fresno





Guillermo R. Balboa Gerald O. Mott Scholarship for Meritorious Graduate Students in Crop Science



Adam P. Gaspar Gerald O. Mott Scholarship for Meritorious Graduate Students in Crop Science



James T. Brosnan Young Crop Scientist Award



Cary Fowler Frank N. Meyer Medal for Plant Genetic Resources



Sukumar Saha International Service in Crop Science Award



Dan Undersander Crop Science Extension Education Award



Mark E. Sorrells Crop Science Research Award



Steve Hague Crop Science Teaching Award



Bruce B. Clarke Fred V. Grau Turfgrass Science Award



Howarth Bouis CSSA Presidential Award



Susan McCouch CSSA Presidential Award





Erin L. Bush Hubert J. Byrd Sr. Scholarship



Jeffrey D. Svedin Hubert J. Byrd Sr. Scholarship



Rachel L. Rubin Francis and Evelyn Clark Soil Biology Scholarship



Rachel Wooliver Francis and Evelyn Clark Soil Biology Scholarship



Jeffrey D. Svedin Soil and Water Conservation Scholarship



Steven Rosenzweig Gary "Pete" Peterson Dryland Soil Management Scholarship



Aditi Sengupta Emil Truog Soil Science Award



Michael J. Castellano SSSA Early Career Award



Lawrence F. Baldwin Irrometer Professional Certification Service Award



Shmuel Assouline Don and Betty Kirkham Soil Physics Award



Alfred E. Hartemink International Soil Science Award



Liwang MaL.R. Ahuja Ag
Systems Modeling
Award



Eric C. Brevik Lloyd R. Frederick Soil Teaching Travel Study Award



Yuji Arai Marion L. and Chrystie M. Jackson Soil Science Award



Donald L. Suarez Soil Science Applied Research Award



Mary E. Stromberger Soil Science Education Award



Kerry Arroues Soil Science Industry and Professional Leadership Award



Eugene F. Kelly Soil Science Research Award



M. Ali Tabatabai Soil Science Distinguished Service Award



Fred Magdoff SSSA Presidential Award



The Golden Opportunity Scholars Institute matches undergraduates with scientist-mentors. The program encourages students to pursue careers in the agronomic, crop, and soil sciences. It is supported by the Golden Opportunity Fund through the Agronomic Science Foundation.



Allison Aubert Kansas State Univ.



Samantha R. Beck Washington State Univ.



Samantha Jo Croat South Dakota State Univ.



Ashley Dean lowa State Univ.



Michelle L. Gaynor Univ. of Central Florida



Hailey B. Holcomb Univ. of Tennessee-Martin



Nicholas L. Hurdle Univ. of Tennessee-Martin



Wednesday J. Jordan Univ. of Wisconsin-Stevens Point



Juniper (Boroka) Kiss Anglia Ruskin Univ.



Kathryn J. Lillie Univ. of Illinois



Samuel McDonald Univ. of Missouri



William M. Peebles Texas A&M Univ.



Hannah Reed Univ. of Illinois



Erin SmothersSoutheast Missouri
State Univ.



Haleigh N. Summers lowa State Univ.



Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Fred E. Below Univ. of Illinois



B. Todd Campbell USDA-ARS



Scott X. Chang Univ. of Alberta



Jane K. Dever Texas A&M AgriLife Research



Erik H. Ervin Virginia Tech



Hero T. Gollany USDA-ARS



Zhongqi He USDA-ARS



Jane M-F Johnson USDA-ARS



L.B. (Bert) McCarty Clemson Univ.



Carlos G.S. Pedreira Univ. of Sao Paulo



Stephen A. Prior USDA-ARS



Gregory W. Roth Pennsylvania State Univ.



Anil Shrestha California State Univ.-Fresno



Jirí Šimunek Univ. of California-Riverside



Janice E. Thies Cornell Univ.



Jim J. Wang Louisiana State Univ.

Congratulations

2016 Fellow, Award, and Scholarship Recipients



Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Stacy A. Bonos Rutgers Univ.



B. Todd Campbell USDA-ARS



A. Susana Goggi Iowa State Univ.



Richard D. Horsley North Dakota State Univ.



Kimberlee K. Kidwell Washington State Univ.



Carlos G.S. Pedreira Univ. of Sao Paulo



Richard C. Pratt New Mexico State Univ.



David M. Stelly Texas A&M Univ.



John C. Stier Univ. of Tennessee-Knoxville



Luther Talbert Montana State Univ.



Jeffrey W. White USDA-ARS

2016 Award Programs

Valley of the Sun, Sheraton Grand, second floor

SSSA Breakfast, Awards, and Plenary Nyle C. Brady Frontiers of Soil Science Lectureship Monday, Nov. 7, 7:00-9:00 am

ASA Breakfast, Awards and Plenary E.T. & Vam York Distinguished ASA Lectureship Tuesday, Nov. 8, 7:00-9:00 am

CSSA Breakfast, Awards, and Plenary

Betty Klepper Endowed Lectureship

Wednesday, Nov. 9, 7:00-9:00 am



Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Carl H. Bolster USDA-ARS



Russell D. Briggs SUNY-ESF



Barbara J. Cade-Menun Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada



Scott X. Chang Univ. of Alberta



Timothy J. Clough Lincoln Univ.



W. Lee Daniels Virginia Tech



Alfred E. Hartemink Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison



Carl J. Rosen Univ. of Minnesota



Randall J. Schaetzl Michigan State Univ.



Mary E. Stromberger Colorado State Univ.



Janice E. Thies Cornell Univ.



Markus Tuller Univ. of Arizona



Harry Vereecken Forschungszentrum Jülich



Michael H. Young Univ. of Texas-Austin